Why Dentistry?

A question that people ask me a lot is what I plan to do after finishing my undergrad with a degree  in Biology. If they aren’t already visibly skeptical, most people will show me their “grossed out” face after I tell them that I plan to become a dentist. “Yuck! Why would you want to do that?” they say. “Teeth are gross!” I then start my spiel about how the subject fascinates me. I tell them that I like the potential for entrepreneurship, and hands on procedures, etc. In fact, dentistry has a lot more to it than just teeth. Want proof? Check out this article, posted by the American Dental Education Association (ADEA). The ADEA makes some great points about various appealing aspects of the field.

Personally, I really like that dental careers can allow for you to interact with patients. Everyone wants to have a great smile, and a dentist can potentially enhance people’s lives. Also, there is a great potential for independence in your career as a dentist. Between many options for specialization and the choice to work in clinical, research, or private practice situations, the job really is what you make of it. Apart from these factors, it also helps that careers in dentistry are some of the most lucrative in modern society. Currently, dental professionals make great salaries and have a high quality of life.

Overall, I think the ADEA article really covers some of the most appealing aspects of dentistry, and it works to explain why the field is so great. If you ever find yourself wondering why anyone would want to be a dentist, consider what the ADEA has to say about it.

 

Leave a comment