Looking at Tension in Music Production

With my graduation coming up in two weeks, I have been considering what to do after school. Since I plan to go to dental school starting in the fall of 2016, I view the next 8 months as a chance for me to pursue things that I may never be able to do again. This will be the first time I have not been in school in almost 20 years, and in a major sense, I see it as a new opportunity.

One thing I am certain to pursue more heavily is music production. Within this goal, I have a lot to learn on the computer side of things. I can play many instruments, but using synthesizers and samples to create music is quite foreign to me. As with anything musical, there is an overabundance of information. Fortunately, I found an apparently useful resource, a blog called EDMProd, run by a DJ/Producer named Sam Matla. Perusing this blog, I stumbled upon a very interesting post, entitled The Advanced Guide to Tension and Energy in Electronic Music. This post looks at music theory, and describes how concepts of tension and energy factor in to creating music.

Some things I like are:

The Focus on Fundamentals

Sam Matla writes as if he is talking to new producers, or those with significant room to improve. I like this, because it places emphasis on key concepts that one should incorporate into original music.

The Emphasis on the Importance of Tension

Upon reading this post, I felt a deeper understanding for the true value of creating strong tension in my music.

Usage of Examples from Relevent Artists

It was great to read about an idea, and then see it in action within a track from one of my favorite artists.

Overall, this post gave insight into an important aspect of music production, and backed it up with solid examples. I feel that I have a new goal on which to focus when producing, and I am glad to have something new that I can chew on.

Leave a comment